Please note that the program is published in Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Back to overview

Highlight Lecture

WEB Nano-Modified Aluminum Powder for Additive Manufacturing

Tuesday (22.09.2020)
15:00 - 15:15 S: Structural Materials 1
Part of:

Additive manufacturing meets light construction materials and made new ways of weight reduction possible as well as for mobility solutions as moving parts in machines, to mention two of a large number of applications. The meaningful handling with energy sources and corresponding the saving of resources is a global concern and more topical than ever before. In this regard, the Chair of Materials Science (LWK) at Paderborn University is trying to develop nanoparticle reinforced aluminum alloys via the Special Priority Program (SPP) 2122, New materials for laser-based additive manufacturing, funded by German Research Foundation (DFG).

The inoculation of TiC and TiB2 nanoparticles on the powder surface of high-strength aluminum alloys (EN AW-7075 and EN AW-7021) is performed. In the current study, different decoration routes of nanoparticles are investigated. The modification of the aluminum alloys shall lead to grain refinement and thus enable the processing by laser beam melting (LBM). This includes the significant reduction of pores and hot cracks, which aluminum alloys of 7xxx series tends to form during additive processing and welding processes. Additionally, an improve of the mechanical properties and the corrosion resistance of the nanoparticle reinforced aluminum alloy is expected.

Differential Fast Scanning Calorimetry (DFSC) is applied to investigate the rapid melting and cooling behavior. This enables to support the development of process adjustments according to the material and therefor reflects and decisive process stages during laser beam melting, which is of great importance for the adjustment of the desired microstructure and the resulting properties.

Steffen Heiland
Paderborn University
Additional Authors:
  • Pascal Vieth
    Universität Paderborn
  • Dr. Evgeny Zhuravlev
    Universität Rostock / CALOR
  • Bin Yang
    Universität Rostock
  • Dr. Kay-Peter Hoyer
    Universität Paderborn
  • Dr.-Ing. Benjamin Milkereit
    Universität Rostock
  • Prof. Dr. Mirko Schaper
    Universität Paderborn
  • Prof. Dr. Guido Grundmeier
    Universität Paderborn
  • Prof. Dr. Olaf Keßler
    Universität Rostock / Lehrstuhl für Werkstofftechnik